Scrolla logo

ANC bigwigs give green light to GNU

The ANC’s National Executive Committee has opened the door to a Government of National Unity with the Democratic Alliance and other parties ahead of parliament’s opening on Friday.

As was expected, the EFF will not be included, but Julius Malema is still making big demands.

Fikile Mbalula, the ANC secretary-general who leads the party’s GNU negotiators, said: “We have engaged in exploratory discussions with the EFF, and we did not find each other on the issue of the GNU.

“We have accepted that point, and we moved on.”

Mbalula confirmed that the DA, EFF, PA and other smaller parties have agreed to endorse the GNU.

Malema later had a private meeting with ANC president Cyril Ramaphosa, but they could not agree on a GNU that excluded the DA.

Mbalula said the ANC delegation has met every party represented in parliament except for ActionSA and UAT.

Jacob Zuma’s MK party also appears to be out of the GNU, but Mbalula said the ANC was still prepared to hear the MK party’s final proposal.

“We have engaged in exploratory discussion with the MK party, and we will continue to engage with them in exploratory discussions.”

Meanwhile, having failed to force the ANC to accept its demands before joining the GNU, the EFF has asked the ANC to give it the position of speaker of parliament.

The party, which has often been at odds with various speakers of parliament, has proposed its national chairperson, Veronica Mente, for the position.

Initially, the EFF said it would not form part of a coalition that included the DA.

But EFF leader Julius Malema said he met Ramaphosa on Thursday with different proposals, including allowing the EFF to take the chairpersonship of some subcommittee in parliament.

Chief Justice Raymond Zondo is due to preside over the election of the speaker of parliament and the president. With most parties having confirmed their support for the GNU, parliament processes are not expected to be deadlocked.

Pictured above: EFF bosses, from left, secretary-general Marshall Dlamini, president Julius Malema and deputy president Floyd Shivambu.

Source: X