Scrolla logo

MK members fight over KZN legislature list

Members of the Jacob Zuma-led Umkhonto Wesizwe (MK) party in KwaZulu-Natal clashed on the first day of the provincial legislature’s sitting.

This was after the list of members of the provincial legislature (MPLs) was changed overnight, and some senior party members were removed.

The fight over the list started on Thursday afternoon. The issue was believed to have been resolved, and everything was on track for the swearing-in of the new party members.

However, a new list emerged on Friday morning, and members were sworn in, causing a commotion outside the legislature.

The new list excluded Nhlanhla Ngidi, the former director-general of the province. Ngidi once topped the list and was tipped to be the party’s premier candidate.

Thulani Gamede, who later urged Zuma to lead the South African National Civics Organisation (Sanco) as its chairperson in the province and later joined the MK party, was also removed from its list.

Gamede confirmed to Scrolla.Africa that he had been removed from the list together with Ngidi and Inkosi Nhlakanipho Maphumulo from Maqonqo.

“I came here prepared to be sworn in, and we later found that we had been removed from the list. We have no idea why,” Gamede said.

Gamede, Ngidi and Maphumulo were locked in a meeting outside the legislature on Friday morning, but it was not clear what was being discussed.

New on the list were Simanga Mabaso, a businessman from Umsinga, and Simphiwe Moyo, the party’s official photographer.

Pictured above: Nhlanhla Ngidi (in a light blue suit) after he was removed from the list.

Source: Sihle Mavuso